You are here

General Information

The United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of South Dakota is served by the Hon. Charles L. Nail, Jr., Chief Judge, and Frederick M. Entwistle, Bankruptcy Clerk. Judge Nail handles all bankruptcy cases filed in South Dakota and holds hearings and trials in Sioux Falls, Aberdeen, Pierre, and Rapid City. He also serves as the Chief Judge of the Eighth Circuit Bankruptcy Appellate Panel. Clerk Entwistle manages the Court's administrative arm. He has two offices, one in Sioux Falls and one in Pierre.

Judge Nail has a staff of two. Clerk Entwistle has a staff of nine, with some positions shared with the Bankruptcy Court for the District of North Dakota.